*Wow! Talk about needing to catch up. I’ve been so busy with projects and posting on other blogs. I need to start linking all my posts 🙂 I have also had some personal things that my family has had to deal with. Hopefully everything will slow down. I will post more details of all of that soon.

This is a post I did back in may for Expressions Vinyl awhile back. Sorry it has taken so long to get this posted. I honestly thought that I had already done it. You will be seeing a few posts like this so I can get caught up. You will also see some exciting new things!!!! In the mean time, please enjoy this post.

Forever Family.

Hi! It’s Candace from Clearfield Designs. About a week ago, I received an email from a woman who wanted a custom project made. (these are my favorite to do!) She told me about her “Eclectic Family”. This family was made up of her, her two sons, two boys who she just gained custody of, and her soon to be husband. She wanted a board that said Forever Family on it with all of their last names hanging on tags. She wanted the board to represent her “Eclectic Family”. I just love this term she uses!

I painted a wooden board black. I then used my Cricut Expression 2 and cut out all of my letters using white and black indoor vinyl from Expressions Vinyl. I used Type Candy Cricut Cartridge along with the Cricut Craft Room to get the letters exactly how I wanted them. I applied “Forever Family” with clear transfer tape. Small, rustic looking hooks were then screwed into the lower part of the board.

For the tags, I some 12 inch wooden tags at the craft store. I painted them as black as well. I found some colorful paper from Teresa Collins paper collection “Fabrications”. I cut the paper about an inch smaller than each tag. I used Modge Podge to adhere the paper to the tags. I used extra amounts to give it extra shine. I then applied the last names to each tag using the clear transfer tape. I used small pieces of twine to hang each tag onto each hook.

This past weekend, I was able to deliver this name board to this woman and her family in person. It was priceless to see the expression on her face. She cried with happy tears! This is why I love to create custom projects so much. I love how the people respond. They know that something was made just for them. In this woman’s case, this project was made just for her and her “Eclectic Family”

 

